Anglo Dutch wars ships

I thought i would post some pictures of a few of my Anglo Dutch wars ships. The miniatures are from Navwar and where painted quite quickly. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any pictures of their Dutch wars to Seven years war range on the internet, so I hope someone finds this useful. The ships are brilliant for the price, admittedly the quality does very a bit through the range but some of them really are little gems. I would recommend going to their shop to see them in the metal before you order on mass.They don’t really mix with Langton’s range which are highly detailed models With a completely different style to modelling the hull shape.  the Navwar ships work well on the gaming table and give a good effect on mass. And as far as I no they’re the only company that makes the later wars of the Spanish succession ships

The ships in the photos are the royal Charles and the prince for the English, the eendracht and the liefde for the Dutch. The flags are made out of green stuff and the bases out of Super Sculpey.

About benjaminwalton

I'm a 27 year old wargamer originally from Pendock Worcestershire. I now live in Kingston and work as an architect in Teddington lock. I've been in to wargaming since I was about 9, starting with airfix and revell plastic figures then moving on to games workshop. I'm now manly in to historical naval gaming but I'll play whatever looks like good fun.

6 responses to “Anglo Dutch wars ships”

  1. TWR says :

    Very impressive models which have come up extremely well!

    • benjaminwalton says :

      Thanks, I do really like this period the ships have a lot of a carictre and the battles where pretty epic in proportions. Just have to find the time to paint the 80 odd ships required per side for the big engagements 🙂

  2. Stephan says :

    I have been looking at the Navwar range for ages now, but never got around to getting any. What rules do you use? The bases look fantastic, did they come with th ships?
    And the table? Looks great too! Would love to see a battle report with these 🙂 doesn’t need to be an 80 ship per side epic 😉

    • benjaminwalton says :

      Thanks 🙂 I’ll be posting some more pictures of the range as time goes on, i have quite a few of them. I use Langton’s tiller and whipstaff. It’s a good set of rules that gives an enjoyable result with out to much fuss. I’ll try and get a battle report up using the rules soon.

      The bases are my own made out of super sculpey (modeling clay you can get from art shops) imprinted with tin foil to get the waves.

      The table was made by stipling a mix of thick pv glue and black paint, then lots of dry brushing.

  3. Phil Ireson says :

    I jst bought a copy of Generals at Sea and I too am impressed with them . They look very playable . I love your blog especially the naval wargaming parts, the models are inspirational . I am looking at Anglo Dutch and Predreadnought period warships presently but I can’t settle on a ruleset or a scale as yet .

    keep up the good work , Phil.

    • benjaminwalton says :

      thanks Phil, glad you like the blog. I really like 1:2400 as a scale for both periods. Having said that i do have 1:3000 for pre-dreadnoughts and a load of 1:1200 for Anglo Dutch. I think with 1:2400 its easy to get fleets on the table both in terms of time and space for a game.

      I’m still looking for a good rule set for pre-dreadnoughts so if you find a good one let me know. i think the vast differences between ships and lack of battles between the major powers makes it a hard one. which is a massive shame as the ships are so interesting.

      cheers Ben

Leave a comment