Rebased French pre-dreadnoughts, and a bit of a how to

fic1

Finally got round to starting this task, so far so good but getting consistency has been a bit of a struggle but hay it’s the sea it changes.  For my 1:3000 Victorian (there not all pre-dreadnoughts and not strictly speaking ironclads) I’ve opted for a darker sea think it go’s a bit better with the ships

The recipe is (all in GW paints)

1) Vallejo water Effects stippled on with a strip of balsa in lines, this wants to give the base a good covering as this is what I stick the ship to the base with. After doing this bit I put the ship on to the base this naturally gives a bit of a bow wave.

2) Kantor Blue as a base coat

3) Thunderhawk blue as a heavy dry brush

4) Hawk turquoise as lighter dry brush

5) chramite white light dry brush. A line for the bow wave then heavy dry brush in the wake.

6) nuln oil wash all over the base but avoiding bow wave

7)Ardcoat, but not too much

Not a proper how to but hopefully a little helpful. It would be cool to hear what other people use for their bases.

also I’m thinking about rigging these but don’t know if that would look massively wrong with 1:3000 ships especially as they are more in scale then the 1:2400 ones I’ve done. I’m defiantly adding masts to some though.

fic3

fic4

About benjaminwalton

I'm a 27 year old wargamer originally from Pendock Worcestershire. I now live in Kingston and work as an architect in Teddington lock. I've been in to wargaming since I was about 9, starting with airfix and revell plastic figures then moving on to games workshop. I'm now manly in to historical naval gaming but I'll play whatever looks like good fun.

4 responses to “Rebased French pre-dreadnoughts, and a bit of a how to”

  1. Chalfant says :

    Thanks, that’s useful information.

  2. Chalfant says :

    Howdie. I did not follow you exactly, but in spirit 🙂 Used caulk, and a different color set. I like my waves… I like your water colors better, but mine will work…. have a look at my blog if you care… http://miniwrath.blogspot.com/2013/03/modern-chinese-navy-sails-forth.html

Leave a Reply

