Another new naval project

 

AD TD2

 

 

Yup I know I all ready have Anglo Dutch wars ships but their all 1:1200 and 1:2400 where it’s at 🙂 plus I’ve turned two of these smaller guys around so far this week, it takes me double the time to get one 1:1200 off the painting table and I’m particularly inspired by the paintings of the massed battles of the period so I’m going for volume of ships, and that’s where 1:2400 wins it for me.

 

So here is the first ship off the paint table a 70 gun English ship of the red squadron. My force is going to center on the second Anglo Dutch war and I might aim for the order of battle from Lowestoft or at least use that as a guide to the mix of ships the later probably being much more logical and sensible.

RNN Texel

 

As for rules I have tiller and whipstaff from Mr Langton and grate ships by Mr Manley, but I’m quite interested in the concepts in the general at sea set. The idea of using bases of ships as you would in say a land based rules set seems to me a good way of representing the scale of these battles. If anyone has any thoughts on these rules sets that would be interesting to hear.

AD TD1

About benjaminwalton

I'm a 27 year old wargamer originally from Pendock Worcestershire. I now live in Kingston and work as an architect in Teddington lock. I've been in to wargaming since I was about 9, starting with airfix and revell plastic figures then moving on to games workshop. I'm now manly in to historical naval gaming but I'll play whatever looks like good fun.

2 responses to “Another new naval project”

  1. thomothelost says :

    Oh another of my “I must do something in that period” periods! I like the idea of 1/2400 too – I have the Danish fleet from the Napoleonic Wars – I brought it back to Singapore to work on when I get the urge.

    The thing that had slowed me down with the Anglo-Dutch Wars was that I had a couple of 1/1200th ships and the little mast that sticks up from the bowsprit was a pest to glue – I almost have not fingerprints left from superglue, I am sure that would have finished them 🙂

    • benjaminwalton says :

      It’s a really attractive period, cool ships and veary big battles, not a bad thing but lots of painting even if your doing them scaled down. Another plus for 1:2400 is the jack staff is cast on to the bowsprit 🙂 still dosnt stop me geting stuck to the ships though….

Leave a Reply

