A surprise HMS Shah

1

A little while ago I received a surprise miniature from Paul at tumbling dice. He had made me HMS Shah, it really was a happy surprise to receive this miniature. Here she is facing down the Huascar who she fought with on the 29th of May 1877. To be honest not much came out of the engagement but a torpedo was fired by the Shah. HMS Shah was designed by Reed, the Shah had an unarmoured iron hull which was wooden sheathed.

Massive thanks to Paul for this brilliant surprise.

4

About benjaminwalton

I'm a 27 year old wargamer originally from Pendock Worcestershire. I now live in Kingston and work as an architect in Teddington lock. I've been in to wargaming since I was about 9, starting with airfix and revell plastic figures then moving on to games workshop. I'm now manly in to historical naval gaming but I'll play whatever looks like good fun.

8 responses to “A surprise HMS Shah”

  1. Doug says :

    Nice looking ships. In retrospect, if I was starting again I would use 1/2400 for the period, but I have Houstons (approx 1/1000) and for the later predreads, WTJ in 1/3000 (lovely models too..) and going earlier, Langton 1/1200.

    • benjaminwalton says :

      Thank you Doug. Yup its a good scale fir gameing but I do use navwar 1:3000 for everything after 1880 although saying that I’m going to end up doubling up soon. I’ll have to take a look at the wtj stuff would it mix with navwar?

  2. thomothelost says :

    Looking good mate – I had forgotten about the Shah’s torpedo attack on the Huascar – Britain exerting colonial muscle. Must find my 10mm Great Pacific War figures this weekend – their missing is vexing me. I can see my ships, laying unpainted there above the painting table but no figures!

  3. Mr.Marx says :

    Superb painting as ever. When you look at the size difference, you can really see how the ‘amazing Huscar’ earned her name.

    I dont suppose you have any photos of any of the other new Tumbling Dice 1/2400ths? I saw that Paul has brought out the 1880’s french models.

    MM.

    • benjaminwalton says :

      Thanks you sir. Yup I hadn’t realised how much of a size difference there was till now either. But then shah wasn’t armoured… not that that evens anything up. I haven’t got any of 1880s French yet but I will after colours 🙂

  4. Richard Naylor says :

    Hi,

    Can I ask what rules you use for your Ironclads, I’ve been struggling for years to find something that’s playable for fleet actions.

    Cheers

    Richard

    • benjaminwalton says :

      I’ve been looking for a set of rules im happy with to. Unfortunately with out much luck so far. Think the difference in the ships and ships armament and armour make it very tricky to make a fun set for big actions.

Leave a Reply

